Skip to Content
Vitality Logo

Tuesday 3 October 2017

Shortlist announced for the Vitality Team of the Year Award 2017

The shortlist of finalists has been confirmed for the Vitality Team of the Year Award.

This accolade, which celebrates the achievements of Britain’s successful collective efforts, will be one of the highlights of the 2017 Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards in association with Vitality.

The four shortlisted teams for 2017 are:

England cricket team

England won the women’s cricket world cup in July for a third time. Mark Robinson’s side completed a thrilling comeback at a near-packed Lord’s to beat India by nine runs. Anya Shrubsole took 6-46 – the best figures in a World Cup final – as the Indians were bowled out for 219 with eight balls to spare. It ended an eight-year wait for a global trophy.

England rugby union team

England were crowned Grand Slam champions this year for the 13th time. They scored 216 points, including 36 tries, across five matches. In August, the Red Roses reached the final of the women's World Cup but were beaten by New Zealand in August. They relinquished the trophy won in 2014 as the Black Ferns ran in seven tries in Belfast in a 41-32 victory.

GB athletics 100m & 400m relay squads

Britain’s female relay runners won two silver medals at the IAAF World Athletics Championships in August. In the final of the 4x100m, the quartet of Asha Philip, Desiree Henry, Dina Asher-Smith and Daryll Neita crossed the line in 42.12 seconds as the United States took gold in a world-leading 41.82secs. And in the 4x400m final, the team of Zoey Clark, Laviai Nielsen, Eilidh Doyle and Emily Diamond finished second in a time of 3:25.00.

Wales para-cheerleading team

A group of cheerleaders from Wales became world champions in Orlando, Florida, in May. The team, made up of both able and disabled cheerleaders, won gold in the ParaCheer Freestyle Pom at the ICU World Cheer Championships.

The Vitality Team of the Year shortlist was announced live on Tuesday on Sky Sports’ flagship programme Sportswomen.

The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2017 in association with Vitality, now in their 30th year, have led the way in recognising and celebrating the outstanding contribution to sport made by elite athletes, coaches, administrators, community volunteers and inspirational women.

On the evening of Thursday October 26, the Awards will take place at the Hilton London Bankside hotel.

The awards ceremony will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Action and Sky Sports Mix, a channel available to all Sky TV customers (8pm to 9.30pm).

The top-six shortlist for the Sunday Times Sportswoman of the Year award includes the following outstanding women: Elinor Barker (track cycling), Tammy Beaumont (cricket), Elise Christie (short-track speed skating), Johanna Konta (tennis), Jodie Taylor (football) and Bianca Walkden (taekwondo).

Previous winners of the coveted main award include Laura Kenny, who won in 2016, Dame Jessica Ennis-Hill, Charlotte Dujardin, Sally Gunnell, Dame Kelly Holmes, Denise Lewis, Christine Ohuruogu, Victoria Pendleton and Zara Tindall.

The Sunday Times Sportswomen of the Year Awards 2017 in association with Vitality are among the most prestigious and influential in the British sporting calendar and are once again supported by the Sport and Recreation Alliance, UK Sport, Sport England and Women in Sport.

The shortlist of finalists for 2017:


The ultimate accolade for your favourite Sportswoman of 2017

  • Elinor Barker (track cycling)
  • Tammy Beaumont (cricket)
  • Elise Christie (short-track speed skating)
  • Johanna Konta (tennis)
  • Jodie Taylor (football)
  • Bianca Walkden (taekwondo)


Celebrating the achievements of Britain’s successful collective efforts

  • England cricket team
  • England rugby union team
  • GB athletics 100m & 400m relay squads
  • Wales para-cheerleading team


Nominees must have been 21 or younger on January 1, 2017

  • Freya Anderson (swimming)
  • Ellie Downie (artistic gymnastics)
  • Sammi Kinghorn (para-athletics)
  • Millie Knight (para-skiing)


The outstanding performer in a disability sport

  • Hannah Cockroft (athletics)
  • Jeanette Chippington (canoeing)
  • Sophie Hahn (athletics)
  • Emma Wiggs (canoeing)


For individuals who have actively engaged with different groups of people within their community through sport

  • Carlton Bolling College girls’ team (cricket)
  • Ann Davis (Boccia)
  • Margaret Palmer (netball)
  • Rashida Salloo (rounders)

To vote for your favourite Community candidate, please visit:

Winners of the LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD and the HELEN ROLLASON AWARD FOR INSPIRATION will be announced on the evening.

Eleanor Mills, Editorial Director, The Sunday Times said: “The Sunday Times has championed British sportswomen for three decades, both in print and with these awards, so we congratulate all this year's finalists and we look forward to celebrating their achievements."

Neville Koopowitz, CEO of Vitality, said: “Our congratulations to everyone on the shortlist. There have been some standout individuals and exceptional team performances, which we are highlighting with the Vitality Team of the Year award. As well as recognising the achievements of elite sportswomen, the Awards also draw well-deserved attention to those people who work tirelessly to support women’s sport in their communities. All those nominated help inspire women of all ages to actively engage in sport and live a healthy life and we look forward to recognising their achievements later this month.”

Barney Francis, Managing Director of Sky Sports, said: “It has been a phenomenal year for women’s sport and that is reflected in a highly competitive shortlist, with some standout stories. It’s a source of pride to Sky Sports that a former Sky Sports Scholar Elise Christie is recognised for her fantastic achievements, but every woman on the list has earned her place for outstanding performance. We look forward to reliving the stories on Sky Sports and honouring a range of women across the different categories who have played a huge part in an inspirational year.”